mysterIn my experience, I never liked listening to a podcast but this episode changed my point of view. I’ve always loved and a big fan of murder mysteries, especially the movies that are related to crime or murder. Podcasts, however, haven’t been my personal preference but there are a couple of interesting things in this serial episode that surprised me.

When the podcast starts, the recording already caught my attention. Hearing Adnan’s voice and the music in the background really polished it. The emotions I heard were ranged from curious to impatient to frustration and then judgement. Serial use witnesses, real life examples/experiences to engage with the listener and it is the reason why I like this podcast. This method of investigative journalism is brilliant. I think that this investigative format is really depending on the individuals whether they like it or not. Although, many people might dislike this format, this podcast format ties in aspects that there are a lot of individuals who can relate it to. Asking questions to the listeners using a tone that invokes emotions put journalism on a level which other formats can’t easily do. It is harder to carry out emotions through reading than to actually hear the suffering, misery, pain in a podcast.

famiThe negative side about this topic regarding this podcast is the impact of the victim’s family. The host mentions; “They told me about Adnan Syed… when he was arrested for murder, so many people who know him were stunned” (Koenig). Anan’s Family are sad and in pain after hearing the news. I personally can’t imagine how they felt after knowing what he’s been through when he was asleep and taken straight to jail. This kind of memories would be impossible to forget because it is very upsetting to the family. The fact that the public knows about it is even worst because people will keep discussing it there will be even more bad memories. Although, this serial is to raise awareness about the case, but it is more upsetting to Adnan’s family.

Also, there are some memories that are unforgettable, there are also memories which cannot be remembered.  The host of the podcast starts with a discussion about the challenges of memory and I think that I remember things quite well. I tend to have a strong visual memory especially the ones that are significant to remember. For example, I remember all the birth dates in my family. When I was listening to the podcast, I wonder that what if he remembered the day when Hae was murdered. Adnan’s memory is the only thing that could help him. book

At first, I would prefer reading than listening because reading is the traditional way for people to educate themselves. However, reading is the void of emotions because the voice can’t be felt from the person who is sharing the experience. But overall, the two methods have their own benefits so it is most likely a preference choice. Now that heard the podcast, I personally like audio because of the tone that invokes real emotions.

Works Cited

“Adnan’s memory” • r/serialpodcast.” Reddit. N.p., n.d. Web. 21 July 2017.

“Defining the Craft.” Global Investigative Journalism Network. N.p., n.d. Web. 21 July 2017.

“Inside the Podcast Brain” The Atlantic. Atlantic Media Company, 16 Apr. 2015. Web. 21 July 2017.

“Reading and remembrance” Brainscape Blog. N.p., 14 May 2017. Web. 21 July 2017.

Koenig, Sarah. “Episode 01: The Alibi.” Serial. N.p., 03 Oct. 2014. Web. 21 July 2017. <https://serialpodcast.org/season-one/1/the-alibi&gt;.

 

 

 

Personal Response to the Serial Podcast Episode

Leave a Reply

